Friends on the beach with their phone

Heading to Europe on holiday this summer?  If you're on EE you'll be please to know it won't cost you a penny extra to use your phone abroad in 47 countries - and that includes data use!

Millions of customers will benefit from inclusive call minutes, texts and internet use when the network ditches roaming charges across the 47 countries on June 15, plus EE have also announced new plans that include roaming in the USA, New Zealand, Australia, Mexico and Canada.  These will launch on May 10.

EE CEO Marc Allera said: “Our customers want to be able to stay connected whether they’re travelling around the UK or abroad. Customers can now stay in touch whether they’re lying on a beach in the Mediterranean, checking out the latest restaurants in New York, or hiking in New Zealand.”

EE also sends out text messages to customers to inform them when they’re near the end of their data allowance so you can avoid running up huge bills.  We all know how those holiday phone bills can soon rack up, so this is great news for anyone already on EE or thinking about joining them.  Vodafone already offers inclusive roaming but only if you're a new customer or upgrade.  Three also offer inclusive roaming in 42 countries.

Image result for ee

New plans incoming May 10
On May 10 EE is also launching a range of 4GEE Max plans, offering 52 inclusive destinations worldwide with inclusive roaming - including the USA, Canada, Mexico, Australia and New Zealand, on top of the 47 listed below.

What happens on June 15

If you're on EE's 4GEE plans you can already roam inside the EU and use up to 500MB of data a month at no charge.  However those on EE's 4G Essential plan need to pay £4 a day to get unlimited calls and 500MB roaming data - although this is only charged on days you actually use it.

From June 15 everyone can use their phone exactly the same way they do at home with no additional charges in Europe.

Here's the full list of countries that EE customers will be able to use their phones in as if they were the UK:

EU countries:

  • Austria
  • Azores
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Canary Islands
  • Croatia, Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • French Guiana
  • Germany
  • Gibraltar (UK)
  • Greece
  • Guadeloupe
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Madeira
  • Malta
  • Martinique
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Reunion Islands
  • Romania
  • Saint Barthelemy
  • Saint Martin (French)
  • San Marino
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • The Netherlands
  • Vatican City

EEA countries:

  • Iceland
  • Norway
  • Liechtenstein

Additional destinations:

  • Switzerland
  • Monaco
  • Isle of Man
  • Jersey
  • Guernsey

Happy holidays!  If you have any questions about EE roaming or how to use your phone abroad, feel free to message us on Facebook.